The Glass Lounge Dallas Review

4 Jul

There’s a new kid on the block and the douchebags have not been fully alerted of it’s opening (I did see a couple of Affliction type shirts).

Currently the Glass Lounge is the new IT SPOT in Dallas.  You go there to be seen.  Last night I made my appearance there after all the mad FaceBook updates in reference to this new establishment. I’m not into trendy spots but even I had to give in.

 LOOK: This place was DEFIANTLY designed by a man, only a hoodrat man would want to use the color lime green in  the decor.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the fact that it’s not in the middle of Downtown or in the cluster fuck of McKinney in the heart of uptown.  It’s across the street from the 17 Gables.  The space is big for lounge standards.   There is enough room to walk around without having to push gently move people out of the way.

The club has a fantastic open concept that allows you to see the whole place.  They have one long bar against the back wall. The whole place is really aesthetically pleasing.

 CROWD: Since the lounge isn’t full of Dallas Douchebags (yet) the crowd was super nice and respectful.  Most men were dressed to impress, as were the women.

BARTENDERS: Most bartenders in Dallas can barely make a vodka and Sprite.  However, the bartenders here are not only knowledgeable, they are nice.  They pay attention to whose next so you aren’t side eyeing the person next to you.

DJ:  Okay, this is where I can no longer sing the praises of this placeThe DJ sucked.  Dallas as some of the best DJs in the world, but this one sucked.  Here’s the thing. I HATE HOUSE MUSIC.  This DJ played 80% House and 20% Hip Hop/Pop.  My theory is House Music was only invited to sale more drinks.  People mostly dance when Hip Hop or Pop music is played.  When House music comes on most of those people head to the bar and grab a drink.  Clubs/lounges/ultra lounges have learned this and now play mostly house music to drive up the drink amounts.  Game recognizes game.

Either way the House music that was played was HORRIBLE.  Jesus H. Christ. Not to mention it was hotter than Hell in that place.

Overall would I go back?

Unless the DJ starts playing Hip Hop or Pop music from 2011 I am NOT interested in going back.  Yes, the place is pretty to be in, but music makes or breaks a club.  The DJ was not good and therefore I won’t be going back unless I have someone who music taste I trust tell me otherwise.

 

The Glass Lounge

1899 McKinney Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201-1729

 

Have any of you been to Glass yet? Give me your opinions.

 

9 Responses to “The Glass Lounge Dallas Review”

  1. Glass July 11, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Sorry you didn’t like the music selection but we are still making changes, it wasn’t to drive up bar sales thats for sure. The AC problems had been fixed so it won’t happen again .. Come in and i’ll buy you a round of shots for you and your friends .. Glassuptown.com

  2. Glass Lounge Dallas July 13, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    Good review, but you forgot to mention the horrible valet service, and the disrespectful owner and vip manager. They will surely be the downfall of the establishment.

    • Jessica December 14, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      My car was stolen a month ago from their valet company. I have yet to recieve a dime from them and the valet owner is not returning my calls. I would highly reccommend NOT usuing their valet company. I was told the night mine was stolen, that it happened to someone else the weekend before and the Dallas police told me they think its an inside job. Beware of platinum parking.

    • shawn February 28, 2012 at 1:41 am #

      Im sorry to say this but i just recently went their and we had a large group on a slow night the bouncer saw this and first thing hd asked r u on the list we said yes which we where suppose to be the guy forgot to put the name so the bouncer asked for 10 a person we said yea sure credit card he said cash only he right their lost 15people that could have spent alot of money this place is going out of business with people like that at the door.

      • humpandgrind March 4, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

        Shawn, I will explain why the bounce asked for the 10 dollars in a post that I will be writing today. You guys didn’t do anything wrong… nor did the bouncer.

  3. christine August 4, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    Is this club 18+. I’m looking for a place for my 21st birthday buuut my closes peoples are a bit younger.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Glass Lounge Now Charges to Get In « humpandgrind - March 4, 2012

    […] my initial posting about Glass Lounge way back when I have gotten SEVERAL comments from people.  Most of them just […]

  2. Review: Winston Superclub Dallas « humpandgrind - March 4, 2012

    […] I’ve had people repeatedly tell me that I need to check out Winstons.  Last time I got a recommendation I ended up at Glass.  We all know how that went. […]

  3. Review: Winston Supperclub Dallas « humpandgrind - March 4, 2012

    […] I’ve had people repeatedly tell me that I need to check out Winstons.  Last time I got a recommendation I ended up at Glass.  We all know how that went. […]

Leave a Reply

